Gathering of classic cars in Meudon 2018

Again, UNIVEM was invited by the “Vincennes en Anciennes” association (an association of classic cars) to attend the arrival of their famous event, the “Traversée de Paris”: hundreds of classic cars driving through Paris on Sunday morning. The finish line being in the castle of Meudon, which is on the edge of a wooded plateau, that…

Locomotion en Fête 2018

UNIVEM was again there for the 24th “Locomotion en Fête” (the 2nd one at the Melun-Villaroche airfield), an event gathering all types of old vehicles: trucks, cars, tractors, firetrucks,… For the military section, UNIVEM brought some of their vehicles: International M425 and its trailer, GMC fuel tank, tipper and cargo, Dodge Command Car, Jeep Willys…

D-Day 74th Anniversary

This year again, several members of UNIVEM went to Normandy to commemorate the 74th Anniversary of Normandy landings. Two Jeep and one Dodge of UNIVEM and three Jeep of members came for this event (the vehicles came by their own means by road!). Base camp was as usual at the Vierville-sur-mer castle, owned by the Hausermann family.…

Presentation of our Sherman

On the 26th of May 2018, about a month before the due date, the last restoration of UNIVEM, a M4A4T Sherman tank, was presented to the members of the association. A veteran of the French 2nd Armored Divison, who served on a recovery Sherman during WW2 baptized the tank, named “General Lafayette”. Some rides on…

Arriving of a Diamond T 981

In May 2018, a new vehicle arrived at UNIVEM. It’s a Diamond T 981 (or M20) which was a tractor used to tow the M9 tank transpoter trailer “Rogers”. UNIVEM indeed already had a M20, but the restoration of the engine could last long so UNIVEM could not miss the opportunity to get this new…

Rétromobile 2018

  This year again, UNIVEM participated in Retromobile, one of the biggest classic car show in Europe. We chose to display a stand in the theme of the French 2nd Armored Division, with the Scout Car as a vehicle, as it was recently repainted in the colors of this famous division. It came by its…

New paint job for the Scout Car

In september 2017, we decided to give the Scout Car a new paint job. The paint job took only 2 weeks, because the goal was to participate to the 70th Anniversary of General Leclerc’s death in Paris on 8th october. The vehicle was partially disassembled: back bumpers and steps, lights, door handles, mirrors,… We chose markings of…

Ivanhoe 2018

During the last week-end of january, the association Indian Head held its yearly winter meeting, Ivanhoe. 140 participants and about 35 vehicles were present. This year, the camp took place at the Castel Notre Dame, with a castle first built during the 12th century, and converted today in a hostel, located in Remersdael, near the…

Locomotion en Fête 2018

L’Univem était une fois de plus présente pour cette 24ème édition de la Locomotion en Fête (et la 2ème sur le nouveau site de l’aérodrome de Melun-Villaroche), qui rassemble tous types de véhicules anciens et principalement du lourd : camions, tracteurs, travaux publics, pompiers,… Pour le plateau militaire, l’Univem avait apporté quelques-uns de ses véhicules…

Présentation de notre Sherman

Le 26 mai 2018, soit près d’un mois avant la date butoir prévue, la dernière restauration de l’UNIVEM, un char Sherman M4A4T, a été présentée aux membres de l’association et à une quarantaine d’invités afin de célébrer la fin du chantier. Un vétéran de la 2ème DB qui officiait sur la version de dépannage du…

Centenaire de l’UNC à Maule

En ce mardi 8 mai 2018, l’UNIVEM a participé au centenaire de l’Union Nationale des Combattants qui se tenait au parc Fourmont à Maule. On pouvait y trouver divers stand comme celui de l’UNC, des amis de la gendarmerie,… Des démonstrations de la gendarmerie (maître-chiens, cavaliers de la gendarmerie à cheval) ont également été proposées au…

Arrivée d’un Diamond T 981

Début mai 2018, un nouveau véhicule est venu rejoindre les rangs de l’Univem. Il s’agit d’un Diamond T 981 (ou M20) qui servait principalement à tracter la remorque porte-char M9 Rogers. L’Univem disposait certes déjà d’un M20 du même type, mais la restauration du moteur pouvant prendre du temps à restaurer complètement, l’association ne pouvait…

Rétromobile 2018

Cette année encore, l’UNIVEM a participé à Rétromobile, l’un des plus grands et plus beaux salons de la voiture ancienne en Europe. Nous avions choisi pour cette édition un stand sur le thème de la 2ème Division Blindée et la libération de Paris, avec comme véhicule le Scout Car, récemment repeint aux couleurs de cette…

Remise en peinture du Scout Car

En septembre 2017, il a été décidé de remettre en peinture notre Scout Car. La peinture a été réalisée en deux semaines fin septembre car l’objectif était de participer aux commémorations du 70ème anniversaire du décès du Général Leclerc à Paris le 8 octobre. Un démontage partiel a été réalisé : pare-chocs et marchepied arrières,…

Ivanhoe 2018

Pour le dernier week-end de janvier, le BMVCG Indian Head organisait sa traditionnelle sortie hivernale, Ivanhoe. 140 participants et près de 35 véhicules avaient répondu à l’appel. Cette année, le camp de base avait pour cadre le Castel Notre Dame, avec son château construit à l’origine au 12ème siècle et converti aujourd’hui en chambres d’accueil,…