History

The name of the company was created when the father of Charles Arthur Tilt, shoe manufacturer, chose a diamond as the emblem of the quality of its production. The “T” for Tilt was thus set in a diamond that was originally painted in gold.  His son growing up in a workshop and machinery environment soon developped an interest for mechanics.  He built his first car in 1905. A turning point was taken when a loyal customer asked for a truck in 1911.  It was such a success that orders piled up and Charles Arthur Tilt decided to abandon car manufacturing to build only trucks.
Known for their reliability and robustness, Diamond T was approached at the beginning of the war when the British asked the US to provide a tank transporter.  Designed for the British army, this was the only American truck among the great classics of WWII to be a diesel model.
It was only a tractor : its rear ballast box could be loaded with any material available in order to load the axles: stones, sand, concrete slabs, iron pigs…
Listed as M20, it was part of the truck-trailer, 45-ton, tank transporter M19.  Its purpose was to recover and transport damaged tanks and materiels weighting up to 90,000 pounds in connection with Trailer, 45-ton, M9 manufactured by Rogers Co.

A 40,000 lb (18 t) winch located between the cab and the ballast could load a broken down tank on the trailer.
Referenced as model “980” by Diamond, an upgraded version was later released under the reference “981”: the improvement concerned the winch with the possibility to direct the cable toward the rear as well as the front of the truck.  The model 981 is therefore recognized by its front bumper that includes a cable outlet with guide rollers.
These trucks, like the Pacific, were very popular after the war with heavy haulage companie.  They often worked as multiple units pushing and pulling the load.  The companies then chose for their Diamond T 980/981 a larger tire size than originally designed to get them on more homogeneous gear ratios with those of the Pacific.

Technical data

Design year : 1940

Production : 1941-1945

Numbers built : 6,554

Weight : 26,650 lb (12,090 kg) empty, 45,000 lb (20,000 kg) loaded

Length : 280 in (7.1 m)

Width : 102 in (2.6 m)

Height : 101 in (2.6 m)

Engine : Hercules DFXE, diesel valve-in-head, 185 hp at 1600 rpm, 895 cu.in (14,6 l)

Transmission : 6×4, 4 speed x 3 speed auxiliary

Speed : 23 mph (37 km/h)

Air brakes : Bendix-Westinghouse

Operational range : 300 mi (483 km)

Maximum recommended towed load (pintle hitch): 115,000 lb (52 t)

Fuel consumption (loaded) : 2 mpg

Winch 40,000 lb (18 t)

Historique

Avec ce camion qui fut très apprécié durant la guerre et même après, les unités qui l’utilisèrent trouvèrent chaussure à leur pied…  Le nom de la société fut créé quand le père de Charles Arthur Tilt, fabricant de chaussures, adopta le diamant comme emblème de la qualité de ses productions.  Le T de Tilt se trouva ainsi enchâssé dans un diamant qui à l’origine était peint en doré.  Son fils qui grandit dans un univers d’atelier et de machines construisit sa première automobile en 1905.  Un tournant fut pris quand un fidèle client lui demanda un camion en 1911.  Devant le succès remporté, Charles Arthur Tilt décida d’abandonner l’automobile pour se consacrer uniquement au camion.

Connu pour leur fiabilité et leur robustesse, c’est naturellement que Diamond T fut approché lorsqu’au début de la guerre les britanniques demandèrent aux américains de leur fournir un transport de tank.   Conçu pour l’armée britannique, ce camion américain fut le seul des grands classiques de la guerre à être un modèle diesel.

Ce n’était qu’un tracteur : sa caisse de lest arrière pouvait recevoir tout ce qu’il pouvait y avoir de disponible en opération pour charger les essieux moteurs : caillasse, ferraille.

Dénommé M20, il était destiné à tracter la remorque porte-char Rogers M9, l’ensemble ainsi constitué étant désigné M19 (voir photo d’un tel ensemble ci-dessous).  Un treuil situé entre la cabine et la caisse de lest permettait de charger un char en panne.

Référencé comme T 980 chez Diamond T, une seconde version désignée T 981 comportait une amélioration pour la gestion du treuil, le câble pouvant également être dirigé vers l’avant du camion.  Le 981 se reconnaît donc à son parc-choc avant qui comporte une sortie de câble avec ses rouleaux-guides.

Ces camions, comme les Pacific, furent très appréciés dans le civil après-guerre pour tracter les lourds convois de la reconstruction et de la réindustrialisation.  Souvent en unités multiples attelées, les transporteurs choisissaient alors une taille de pneus plus grande pour être sur des rapports de boîte plus homogènes avec ceux du Pacific.

Caractéristiques

Constructeur Diamond T
Année de conception 1940
Constructeur Diamond T
Période de production 1941–1945
Nombre fabriqués 6,554
Poids 26,950 lb (12,220 kg)
Longueur 280 in (7.11 m)
Largeur 100 in (2.54 m)
Hauteur 100 in (2.54 m)
Moteur Hercules DFXE
185 hp, 6 cylindres en ligne diesel, 17,9l
Boîte 4 vitesses + transfert 3 vitesses
Suspension 6×4 avec ressorts à lames
Freins A air
Autonomie 300 mi (480 km)
Vitesse 23 mph (37 km/h)