History

Originally manufactured in the US for civilian purposes, this truck has been adapted to British military specifications  and then manufactured in Canada. This truck became a movie star since it “played” in the 1953 famous French movie directed by Henri Georges Clouzot “The wages of Fear”. It was Canadian military Dodge despite its left hand drive , hence a T110 D60 L12. The truck actually restored in our garage is a civilian Dodge, manufactured in the US ; it is therefore correct to define it as a T110 since military versions were defined as D60 (Dodge 60CWT) and were manufactured in Canada. Numerous differences exist between the two versions, in particular left hand drive for the T110, Right hand drive for the D60. The American truck is fitted with a civilian instrument panel, the D60 with a military one. The American truck has one gas tank, the Canadian has two. The American truck has a one speed epicycloid axle, the Canadian is fitted with a two speeds Eaton axle. There are other differences on the Canadian : front push bar, hooks on the bumper, tubular lights on the front wings, lighting of the rear axle painted in white for black-out situation etc….

Our T110 is being totally restored. In addition to restoring the mechanical and body parts, we have to fully rebuild the original “stake and platform“ cargo area. We had the original side, front and rear slatted parts but badly preserved. The flatbed has been lost and must be recreated without accurate model.  What remains of the original stake and platform equipment is our guide.  The original iron fittings will be cleaned, restored and reused.

In September 26, 2015, for the first time, the truck moved under its own power in our garage. The refurbished clutch works adequately.

February 2017, the truck is displayed at the international show “Retromobile 2017”

Technical data

Gas Engine : Dodge 6 cylinders un line, side valves

(Note : the 3/4 ton series (WC) is equiped with the T214 engine, the 6×6 are equiped with the T223 engine (identical to T214) and the Dodge T110 is equiped with the T110 engine which is about one inch longer.  It has an ignition system piloted by a vacuum device and a different carburator.)

Power : 95 hp at 3,600 rpm

Maximum torque speed : 1,200 rpm/mn

Normal compression ( starter : 8.75 to 9.45 kgs/cm2

Bore : 87,31 mm

Stroke : 107,94 mm

Bottom mounted camshaft, chain driven

Crankshaft : 4 bearings

Disc clutch

Gear box : 4 front, 1 rear

Hydraulic brakes with servo depression

Historique

Produit à l’origine aux Etats-Unis pour les usages civils, il fut adapté aux spécifications militaires anglaises pour être alors fabriqué au Canada. Ce camion est devenu une vedette du cinéma depuis qu’il a été l’un des deux camions du « Salaire de la peur » d’Henri-Georges Clouzot.  C’était un Dodge militaire canadien bien qu’il soit en conduite à gauche, c’était donc un T110 D60 L12.  Celui en restauration dans nos locaux est un Dodge civil, fabriqué aux Etats-Unis, il est donc approprié de l’appeler T110 puisque les versions militaires se dénommaient D60 (Dodge 60CWT), elles étaient fabriquées au Canada.  De nombreuses différences caractérisent les deux versions, notamment la conduite à gauche pour le T110, à droite pour le D60.  L’américain à un tableau de bord civil, le canadien un militaire.  L’américain a un seul réservoir d’essence, le canadien en a deux.  L’américain a un pont épicycloïde à une vitesse, le canadien un pont Eaton à deux vitesses.  Bien d’autres différences caractérisent le canadien militaire : push bar à l’avant, crochets sur le pare-choc, feux tubulaires dans les ailes avant, éclairage du pont arrière peint en blanc en situation de black out, etc.

Notre Dodge T110 fait l’objet d’une restauration totale.  En plus de sa mécanique et de sa carrosserie il va falloir lui refaire son équipement d’origine « stake and platform » : plateau et ridelles en bois.  Nous avons encore les ridelles d’origine mais en très mauvais état.  Le plateau est perdu et à recréer sans vraiment de modèle précis.  Les vieilles ridelles vont nous servir de modèle et on pourra y récupérer les ferrures d’époque.

26 septembre 2015 : pour la première fois le camion bouge par ses propres moyens dans notre hangar n°2.  L’embrayage refait à neuf fonctionne correctement.

Février 2017 : le camion est présenté au salon international « Rétromobile 2017 ».

Il vient compléter notre ensemble de véhicules « US Navy ».

Caractéristiques

Moteur Dodge 6 cylindre en ligne, essence, soupapes latérales

(notons que la série 3/4 ton (WC) possède le moteur T214, les 6×6 possèdent le moteur T223 (identique au T214), quant au T110 il possède le moteur T110 plus long d’un inch environ et avec un allumage piloté une cartouche à dépression et un carburateur différent.)

Puissance : 95 cv à 3600 tr/mn

Vitesse de couple maximum : 1200 tr/mn

Compression normale (au démarreur : 8,75 à 9,45 kg/cm2

Alésage : 87,31 mm

Course : 107,94 mm

Arbre à cames latéral entraîné par chaîne

Vilebrequin sur 4 paliers

Embrayage monodisque

Boîte 4 vitesses + marche arrière

Freins à commande hydraulique assistée par servo à dépression