History

The International Harvester Company, IHC, often simply referred to as “International”, originates from the merger in 1902 of the McCormick Harvesting Machine Company and Deering Harvester Company with 3 other small companies specializing in agricultural mechanical equipment.  During World War II, IHC has attained the rank of 33rd supplier for the US military. Some of their productions were specific to the Marine Corps and for the US Navy. In the class of trucks “2 ½ ton, 6×6”, the equivalent of the GMC CCKW, IHC produced a very successful truck: the M-5 H-6. 36,000 units were produced, it was equipped with Thornton differential locks on the rear axles, a Hendrikson design with walking beam.
In the class of trucks “1 ton Cargo Truck” IHC began by delivering the M1-4, only 231 units were produced, plus 892 as ambulances (1941-1943). Its successor, the M2-4, was more successful with 9,101 units produced in the Springfield, Ohio plant.
There was two versions : with and without winch. The chassis were different: the winch was not on a riveted addition to the chassis as on the GMC CCKW.
The letter M was for “military”, 2 indicating the payload of 2,000 lbs and 4 indicated a 4WD vehicle. M-1-4 was equipped with the 213 cubic inch engine “Green Diamond Engine” while the M-2-4 had a bigger engine of 233 cubic inch “Red Diamond Engine”. The tires were larger on the M2-4 : 9.00-16 instead of 7.50-16.
The first M2-4 models were equipped with 6V electrical system, 12V later on and the wheels had 6 studs at the beginnig of production, 5 later on.

Technical data

Engine : gasoline, 93hp, 6 cylinders in line, over head valves

Transmission : 4 speed x 2 with transfer

Dimensions : 198² x 85² x 65² (5,02 m x 2,16 m x 1,65 m)

Historique

L’International Harvester Company, IHC, souvent appelée simplement “International”, trouve son origine dans la fusion en 1902 de la McCormick Harvesting Machine Company et de la Deering Harvester Company avec 3 autres petites sociétés spécialisées dans les équipements mécaniques agricoles (harvest : moisson, récolte). Durant la seconde guerre mondiale, IHC a atteint le rang de 33ème fournisseur de l’armée américaine.  Certaines de ses productions étaient spécifiques pour le corps des Marines comme pour l’US Navy.  Dans la classe des « 2 ½ ton 6×6 », l’équivalent du GMC CCKW, IH produisit un camion très réussi : le M-5 H-6. Fabriqué à 36.000 exemplaires, il était équipé de blocages de différentiels Thornton sur les essieux arrière dont le bogie était de conception à balancier Hendrikson.

Dans la classe des « 1 ton Cargo Truck », IHC commença par livrer le M1-4 qui ne fut produit qu’à 231 exemplaires, plus 892 en version ambulance (1941-1943). Son successeur, le M2-4, fut produit à 9101 exemplaires dans l’usine de Springfield, Ohio.

Il existait une version sans treuil et une version avec.  Les châssis différaient : le treuil n’était pas sur une allonge rivetée au châssis comme sur les GMC CCKW.

La lettre M était pour « military », le 2 indiquait la charge utile, 2000 lbs et le 4 indiquait un véhicule à 4 roues motrices.  Le M-1-4 était équipé du moteur de 213 cubic inch « Green Diamond Engine » tandis que le M-2-4 se voyait équipé d’un plus gros moteur de 233 cubic inch « Red Diamond Engine ». Les pneus furent passés de la taille 7.50-16 à la taille 9.00-16 sur la série M-2-4.

Les premiers modèles du M2-4 étaient équipés en électricité 6V (12V ensuite) et leurs roues comportaient 6 goujons (5 ensuite).

Caractéristiques

Moteur 6 cylindres en ligne essence à soupapes latérales

Boîte 4 vitesse, transfert à 2 vitesses crabotant les roues avant

Dimensions : 198 x 85 x 65 in (5,02 x 2,16 x 1,65 m)