History

This English manufacturer was set up by George Scammell at the turn of the twentieth century. The company has always been innovative and mostly centered on special vehicles. Thus in 1926 Scammell filed a patent for the first self-supporting tanker trailer without any chassis. In 1927 Scammell produced the prototype Pioneer, a 6×4 tractor originally developed for the oil and forestry industries.  It will be used extensively during World War II first as an artillery tractor, then as heavy wrecker, and in a later version as a tank transporter. It was then combined with a semi-trailer.

Although being only a 6×4, the combination of its suspension wide clearance with a slow high-torque diesel engine gave the Scammell excellent performance in rough terrain. It had an  impressive traction capability that resulted in a long civil career in heavy haulage.
In total, about 3,400 Pioneer were produced in the Scammell factory until 1945. Of these, 1,975 were heavy wreckers.

First version : artillery tractor, starting in 1935, 980 were produced.  This was the Pioneer R100.  The typical use at the start of the war was pulling medium artillery pièces like the Howitzer type 6″-60lb and the 4.5″ gun, that until the AEC Matador was produced in sufficient numbers to take over. The Scammell was also used for pulling heavy items: 6″ gun, 8″ Howitzer, 155 mm Long Tom gun able to send shells of 100lb (45kg) at 22km. The Long Tom in working ordrer weighed about 31,000 lb (14 tons). This version of the Scammell had a long cab to transport the servants of the gun. Unfortunately, many of these tractors were lost in France during the evacuation of the British Expeditionary Force in 1940. From 1943 on it was replaced by the Albion CX22S which looked pretty much like the Scammell, but the chassis and a longer hood gave it a more conventional truck aspect.

Second version “heavy recovery vehicle”, starting in 1936, 1,975 were produced.  The first 43 vehicles delivered were called Pioneer SV1S and Pioneer SV1T, all equipped with a folding crane boom of 3 tons capacity and side lockers for the storage of equipment. The folding boom reduced the height of the vehicle during transport by rail in particular, but its handling was complex and difficult. Almost all were lost during the evacuation of the British Expeditionary Force in June 1940. In 1938 the Pioneer SV2S model was proposed with a new design for the boom, more efficient and allowing greater lifting height. A removable counter-weight in front of the vehicle was intended to balance the load when a vehicle was towed. The equipment of the vehicle included a pair of tracks stored in the big baskets on each side of the cab.  They transformed the vehicle into a half-track. The last Scammell Pioneer were not reformed by the British Army before 1980.

Third version, “tank transporter”, starting in 1937, 459 Produced.  The first one had a 20 tons capacity and were designated Pioneer TRCU20. It was equipped with a long chassis such that the cab could accommodate the crew of the tank and was equipped with larger wheels than the prime mover. Its capacity was increased to 30 tons (TRMU30 tractor and trailer TRCU30). The trailer was associated almost permanently to the tractor.  It did not uncouple as  modern trucks does. This arrangement proved too high, especially for the transport of US tanks. That is why it was replaced by the US produced M19 consisting of a Diamond T 980/981 pulling a Rogers Co trailer.

The Gardner diesel engine 6LW was deemed “indestructible”.  It equipped all Scammell versions from 1933 on and the Foden DG6/12 and DG6/10 and remained in production for 35 years. The 90,000 units produced were 2, 4, 6 and 8-cylinder engines.

The end of Scammell

Scammell was merged with Leyland Motors Ltd in 1955 but kept its name.
In 1986 Leyland was bought by the Dutch company DAF that sold the manufacturing rights for some types of vehicles to Alvis Unipower, but without the right to use the name Scammell. It is thus in 1986 that Scammell really disappeared.

Technical data

Length: 6.17 m (243 inches).

Width: 2.64 m (104 inches).

Height: 2.87 m (113 inches).

Weight: 9.740 kg (21,645 lb.).

Engine: 6-cylinder Gardner, LW type 6, 8369 cm3 (510 cubic inches)
Power: 102cv at 1,700 r / min.

Transmission: 6 speeds.

No transfer box

Electrical system: startup on 24 V, lights on 12V

Brakes: mechanical, air assisted

Tires: 13.50 – 20

Speed: 18 mph (29 km / h)

Historique

Ce constructeur anglais a été créé par George Scammell au tournant du vingtième siècle. La société a toujours été innovante et le plus souvent centrée sur des véhicules spéciaux. Ainsi en 1926 Scammell dépose un brevet pour la première remorque citerne auto-portante, sans châssis. En 1927, Scammell propose le prototype du Pioneer, un tracteur 6×4 développé à l’origine pour les industries pétrolière et sylvicole et qui sera largement utilisé durant la seconde guerre mondiale comme tracteur d’artillerie d’abord, comme dépanneur lourd ensuite, puis dans une dernière version comme transport de char. Il est alors combiné à une semi-remorque.

Bien que n’étant qu’un 6×4, la combinaison de sa suspension à très grand débattement avec un moteur diesel lent et à fort couple conférait au Scammell d’excellentes performances en mauvais terrain. Il avait des capacités de traction impressionnantes qui lui assureront une longue carrière civile dans les transports spéciaux.

Au total, ce sont environ 3400 Pioneer qui sortiront de l’usine Scammell jusqu’en 1945. Sur ce total, 1975 étaient des dépanneurs lourds (recovery vehicle en anglais ou wrecker en américain).

Première version, tracteur d’artillerie, dès 1935, 980 produits : dénommé Pioneer R100, l’utilisation typique en début de guerre était la traction de pièces moyennes du type Howitzer 6″-60lbs et canon de 4,5″ jusqu’à ce que l’AEC Matador soit produit en nombre suffisant pour prendre le relais. Le Scammell était aussi employé pour la traction de pièces lourdes : canon de 6″, Howitzer 8″ et canon Long Tom 155mm capable d’envoyer des obus de 100lbs (45kg) à 22km. Le Long Tom en ordre de route pesait 14 tonnes. Cette version du Scammell avait une cabine longue permettant de transporter les servants de la pièce d’artillerie. Malheureusement, beaucoup de ces tracteurs furent perdus en France lors de l’évacuation en juin 1940 de la British Expeditionary Force. A partir de 1943 il fut remplacé par l’Albion CX22S qui lui ressemblait beaucoup, mais dont le châssis et le capot moteur plus longs lui donnaient davantage un air de camion conventionnel.

Deuxième version, «heavy recovery vehicle » (dépanneur lourd), dès 1936, 1975 produits : les 43 premiers véhicules livrés étaient dénommés Pioneer SV1S et Pioneer SV1T, tous équipés d’une flèche repliable de 3 tonnes de capacité et de coffres latéraux pour le rangement de l’outillage. La flèche repliable diminuait la hauteur du véhicule lors des transports par train notamment, mais sa manipulation était complexe et malaisée. Quasiment tous furent perdus lors de l’évacuation de la British Expeditionary Force en juin 40. En 1938 le modèle Pioneer SV2S fut proposé avec une nouvelle conception pour la flèche, plus rationnelle et permettant une plus grande hauteur de levage. Un contre-poids amovible à l’avant était destiné à répartir la charge lorsqu’un véhicule était remorqué.  Le lot de bord de l’engin comportait une paire de chenilles stockées dans les grands paniers de côté de la cabine et qui permettaient de fait de transformer l’engin en half-track, disposition qu’on retrouvera aussi sur les GMC CCKW. Les derniers Scammell Pioneer ne furent pas réformés de l’armée Britannique avant les années 1980.

Troisième version, «tank transporter », 1937, 459 produits : d’abord de 20 tonnes de capacité, il fut dénommé Pioneer TRCU20. Il était équipé d’un châssis long pour que la cabine puisse accueillir l’équipage du tank transporté et aussi de roues plus grandes que celles du tracteur d’artillerie. Sa capacité fut portée à 30 tonnes (tracteur TRMU30 et semi-remorque TRCU30). La remorque était associée au tracteur de manière quasi permanente, elle ne se dételait pas comme sur les camions modernes. Cet ensemble se révéla trop haut, notamment pour le transport des chars US. C’est la raison pour laquelle il fut remplacé par l’ensemble M19 composé du Diamond T 980/981 et de la remorque Rogers.

Moteur diesel Gardner 6LW: réputé “increvable”, il équipa toutes les versions Scammell à partir de 1933 ainsi que les Foden DG6/12 et DG6/10 et restera en production pendant 35 ans. Les 90.000 unités produites se répartissent en 2, 4, 6 et 8 cylindres en ligne.

La fin de Scammell

Scammell fut rattaché à Leyland Motors Ltd en 1955 mais conserva le nom.

En 1986, Leyland fut acheté par le hollandais DAF qui vendit les droits de fabrication de quelques types de véhicules à Alvis Unipower, mais sans droit d’usage du nom Scammell.  C’est donc en 1986 que Scammell disparut vraiment.

Caractéristiques

Longueur: 6,17 m (243 inches).
Largeur: 2,64 m (104 inches).
Hauteur: 2.87 m (113 inches).
Poids: 9,740 kg (21.645 lb.).
Moteur
: 6-cylinder Gardner, type 6 LW, 8.369 cm3 (510 cubic inches)
Puissance: 102cv à 1.700 tr/mn.
Transmission: 6 vitesses.
Pas de boîte Transfert
Système électrique: démarrage en 24V, charge et éclairage en 12V
Freins: mécaniques, assistés à l’air.
Pneus: 13.50 – 20

Vitesse: 18 mph (29 km/h)