UNIVEM was again there for the 24th “Locomotion en Fête” (the 2nd one at the Melun-Villaroche airfield), an event gathering all types of old vehicles: trucks, cars, tractors, firetrucks,…

For the military section, UNIVEM brought some of their vehicles: International M425 and its trailer, GMC fuel tank, tipper and cargo, Dodge Command Car, Jeep Willys and its newest one, the Diamond T M20. Except the latter, every vehicles came by their own means by road! (with the homecoming on Sunday under a heavy rain, which even led to some floods in the Paris area!)

The International and the GMC cargo and fuel tank were displayed around a DC-3 from a local collector to recall in the form of a real size diorama the airborne supplies during the battle of Normandy in 1944. They were completed by a lot of accessories such as jerrycans, barrels, boxes, or Pierced Steel Planking used for the rapid construction of temporary landing strips. Also to be mentioned: UNIVEM presented a “Follow Me” trailer, a Bantam trailer upon which a yellow and black checkerboard pattern cover was laid in order to be clearly visible and to guide aircrafts on airfields, as it was observed on some WW2 pictures.

Some other vehicles met in the military section: a rare german Sd.Kfz 8 of a private collector (the only one in France, and one of ten in the world), a Federal 606 of “Ardennes 44” association, used by the US Air Force during WW2 as an aircraft wrecker, an ultra rare 1941 Citroën TUB coming from the Netherlands (only two military versions are known to survive), a nice display of WW2 US pilots next to a Jeep “Follow Me” and a Curtiss P40, or even a Renault EG from WW1, a Sherman tank and an Achilles tank destroyer from Balmoral Green association.

This year again, this event was a great success!

L’Univem était une fois de plus présente pour cette 24ème édition de la Locomotion en Fête (et la 2ème sur le nouveau site de l’aérodrome de Melun-Villaroche), qui rassemble tous types de véhicules anciens et principalement du lourd : camions, tracteurs, travaux publics, pompiers,…

Pour le plateau militaire, l’Univem avait apporté quelques-uns de ses véhicules : International M425 et sa remorque, GMC citerne, benne et cargo, Dodge Command Car, Jeep Willys et sa dernière acquisition, le Diamond T M20. A l’exception de ce dernier, tous les véhicules sont venus par la route ! (avec un retour le dimanche soir sous une pluie torrentielle, celle-là même qui causa quelques inondations en région parisienne !)

L’international, et les GMC cargo et Citerne ont été installés autour d’un DC-3 prêté par un collectionneur local pour évoquer sous la forme d’un diorama à échelle réelle les ravitaillements aériens pendant la bataille de Normandie en 1944, complété par de nombreux accessoires, tels que jerricans, fûts, caisses ou plaques d’acier destinées à créer des pistes temporaires d’aviation (Pierced Steel Planking (PSP)). A noter également la présentation par l’Univem d’une remorque “Follow Me”, une remorque Bantam sur laquelle vient se placer une bâche à damier, comme il a pu être observé sur quelques photos d’époque, afin d’être bien voyante et guider les avions sur les pistes des aérodromes.

Quelques véhicules rencontrés sur le plateau militaire : un rare Sd.Kfz 8 allemand d’un collectionneur privé (le seul en France et une dizaine dans le monde existeraient encore), un peu courant Federal 606 de l’association Ardennes 44, utilisé à l’époque pour récupérer les avions endommagés, un rarissime Citroën TUB de 1941 venant des Pays-Bas (seul deux encore existants sont connus !), un joli display de pilotes US de la Seconde guerre mondiale avec une Jeep “Follow Me” à côté du Curtiss P-40 du même propriétaire que le DC-3, ou encore un Renault EG de la Première guerre mondiale, un char Sherman et un chasseur de chars Achilles de l’association Balmoral Green.

Cette édition fût donc une fois de plus un succès !